California Seismic Safety Commission
Governor Jerry Brown Alexis Podesta Director of California Seismic Safety Commission, Richard McCarthy
May is Building Safety Month Save our H2O CDPH.CA.GOV Secretary of state – register to voteAborre Nuestra AguaCalVet logo voter affairsunclaimed property

SEISMIC SAFETY COMMISSION 1755 Creekside Oaks Drive,
Suite 100, Sacramento,
California 95833-3637
(916) 263-5506


Right Column

Recent Awards and Recognition

2012 Awards

18th Annual Communicator Awards
Recipient: Alfred E. Alquist, Seismic Safety Commission
Totally Unprepared Project

The Alfred E. Alquist Seismic Safety Commission received two awards in July 2012 from the State Public Information Officers Association for a public educational project, entitled “Totally Unprepared”.

The first award was the Silver Award for “Integrated Campaign” Not for Profit category recognizing the projects overall in social media efforts to reach out to all California’s and provide critical information that informs and educates related to emergency planning, preparedness, response, and recovery. The campaign as a whole won this Award of Distinction.

The second award was the Gold Award in the category of Series Excellence: Online video, “Will It Shake” which included 23 webisodes, 6 television spots, and one 20-minute program across California.

The projects were the result of a partnership with Cal EMA, the California Earthquake authority (CEA), and the Insurance Industry. This project will continue to remind Californians to prepare for disasters, avoid becoming victims, and be self-reliant. The Commission funded $300K in collaboration with CalEMA ($500K), CEA ($250K), and the Insurance Industry ($20K)

California Seismic Safety Commission receives Appointment to GEM Governing Board

GEM Foundation
Global Earthquake Model GEM

Commission accepted to the Global Earthquake Model as an Associate Member

The California Seismic Safety Commission as been appointed to the Governing Board of the GEM Foundation, as an Associate Member. The current Associate Members are the World Bank, OECD, UN-ISDR (International Strategy for Disaster Reduction), UNESCO, IASPEI (International Association for Seismology), IAEE (Int'l Assn. for Earthquake Engineering), and IStructE (Institution of Structural Engineers).

GEM Statute [pdf]

This site meets requirements for valid strict xhtml